Mieczysław Weinberg (1919–1996)
The Passenger / Die Passagierin Opus 97 (1967–1968)

Opera in two acts, eight scenes and an epilogue
Libretto by Alexander Medvedev after the eponymous novel by Zofia Posmysz
Neos 51005 (Blu-ray Disc)

Neos 51006 (DVD, PAL)
Scenic first performance · Bregenzer Festspiele 2010
Concertante first performance at Stanislavski and Nemirovich-Danchenko Music Theatre Moscow on 25 December 2006
In coproduction with Wielki Teatr Warsaw (2010), English National Opera London (2012) and Teatro Real Madrid (2012)
Prague Philharmonic Choir, Choirmaster Lukáš Vasilek
Wiener Symphoniker,
Conductor Teodor Currentzis
Stage Director, David Pountney

Subtitles Multilingual, German, English, French, Polish, Russian
This edition was made possible by the generous support of www.iam.pl
Sound Format 5.0 Dolby Digital and 2.0 Dolby Digital (Extras)
Picture Format 16:9
Running Time approx. 190 min.
Documentary "In der Fremde"
(German, with English Subtitles, approx. 30 min.)

Lisa mezzo-soprano: Michelle Breedt
tenor: Roberto Saccà
soprano: Elena Kelessidi
baritone: Artur Rucinski
soprano: Svetlana Doneva
mezzo-soprano: Angelica Voje
mezzo-soprano: Elżbieta Wróblewska
alto: Agnieszka Rehlis
soprano: Talia Or
Old Woman
soprano: Helen Field
alto: Liuba Sokolova
1st SS Officer
bass: Tobias Hächler
2nd SS Officer
bass: Wilfried Staber
3rd SS Officer
tenor: David Danholt
Elderly Passenger/Steward
bass/actor: Richard Angas
Senior Overseer/Capo
actor: Heide Capovilla
4 Soldiers:
David Gabl, Michael Koch, Juliusz Kubiak, Anton Schwärzler
2 soldiers on watchtowers:
Michelle Lau, Matthias Zuggal

Stage Music
Cooperation with Vorarlberger Landeskonservatorium
Raphael Brunner, Stefan Mikic, Roger Szedalik,
Dominik Neunteufel, Michael Schatzmann (Dance Band)
Tadeusz' double/Chaconne violinist:
Andreas Semlitsch
Set Design, Johan Engels
Costume Design, Marie-Jeanne Lecca
Lighting Design, Fabrice Kebour
Video Director, Felix Breisach

NEOS is releasing the sensational production of the opera "The Passenger" by Mieczysław Weinberg, directed by David Pountney at the Bregenzer Festspiele 2010. This was the opera's scenic first performance ever!
"The Passenger" is based on the eponymous novel of the Polish writer and survivor of the Auschwitz concentration camp, Zofia Posmysz. The libretto was written by Alexander Medvedev who died five days after the premiere at Bregenz.
On an ocean liner bound to Brazil, Lisa, the wife of a German diplomat sees a fellow passenger whom she recognises as Marta, a Polish prisoner from the Auschwitz concentration camp. Lisa is shocked because she thought that Marta was dead. Because of this encounter, Lisa reveals her husband Walter that she was an SS overseer during the war.
In flashbacks we are told about what happened in Auschwitz and about the "relation" between Lisa and Marta.
The Wiener Symphoniker under the direction of Teodor Currentzis play the opera’s music. Michelle Breedt, Elena Kelessidi and Roberto Saccà are singing the leading parts accompanied by the Prague Philharmonic Choir.
This Blu-ray edition comes in a box with a 164 page booklet, including the libretto translated into German, English, French and Polish
The opera is sung in German, English, French, Russian and Yiddish. In the subtitles you can choose between this original version of the opera or the German, English, French, Polish and Russian translations.
In addition to the opera you will find the documentary "In der Fremde" made by ORF about Weinberg’s life, the creation of the novel by Zofia Posmysz, her memories of Auschwitz and the working on the opera’s production in Bregenz.
Interviews with David Pountney, Zofia Posmycz, Michelle Breedt (Lisa) and others.
This documentary’s language is German with English subtitles.
THE PASSENGER is going to be performed at several opera houses in Europe and in the USA.