Weinberg, Mieczyslaw (Moisei) Samuilovich (1919-96)
Naxos 8.574063

East-West Chamber Orchestra
Rostislav Krimer
13th Sep 2019


The East-West Chamber Orchestra is the resident orchestra of the Yuri Bashmet International Music Festival and is made up of concertmasters from leading orchestras and competition laureates.
On this, their debut recording, they celebrate the centenary of Mieczyslaw Weinberg’s birth. Weinberg’s Chamber Symphonies reflect his creativity and the dramatic times in which he lived- the formal lucidity and directness of the First and the elegiac Third -
both derived from string quartets composed in the shadow of the Second World War.
The East-West Chamber Orchestra is comprised of outstanding soloists, including laureates of prestigious international competitions, and concertmasters and leaders of renowned orchestras, performing on exceptional instruments including Stradivarius, Guarneris and Guadagninis.

Chamber Symphony No. 1 for string orchestra, Op. 145
1. I. [Allegro] 8:36
2. II. Andante - Allegro 9:11
3. III. Allegretto 3:56
4. IV. Presto 3:53
Chamber Symphony No. 3, Op. 151
5. I. Lento 9:50
6. II. Allegro 4:52
7. III. Adagio 7:30
8. IV. Andante 10:01