Music of Alexander Abramovich Krein (Александр Абрамович Крейн) and
Mieczysław Moishei Samuilovic Weinberg (Мечислав Моисей Самуилович Вайнберг)
Centaur Records CRC3595

Anastasia Seifetdinova, piano

Alexander Krein : Sketches of Youth (Eskizi yunosti), Op. 2 (1902)

  1. I. Prologue
  2. II. Presentiment
  3. III. Arabesque
  4. IV. Nocturne
  5. V. Sentimental Moment
  6. VI. Fairy-tale
  7. VII. Valse
  8. VIII. Epilogue

Alexander Krein : 4 Pieces, Op. 7 (1904-1906)

  1. No. 1, Étude. Allegro appassionato (F minor)
  2. No. 2, Mazurka. Grazioso (G minor) to Mariya Nemenova-Lunts (1878–1954)
  3. No. 3, Poème-Fantaisie. Allegro non troppo (C minor) to Aleksandr Goldenweiser (1875–1961)
  4. No. 4, Valse. Con moto (F♯ minor) to Eugène Gwosdkoff

Mieczysław Weinberg : Piano Sonata No. 4 in B Minor, Op. 56 (1955)

  1. I. Allegro
  2. II. Allegro
  3. III. Adagio
  4. IV. Allegro

Notes & Reviews:

Alexander Krein was a Russian Jewish composer who lived and worked during the twentieth century. The piano works featured on this new release date from the early parts of his career. Also included are pieces by Mieczyslaw Weinberg, who was a Soviet composer of Polish-Jewish origin.
The sonata included here was composed in 1955. The Ukrainian-born pianist Anastasia Seifetdinova has performed extensively in the United States and Europe. She has appeared in the Weill Recital Hall in New York City, the Bolshoy Hall of Moscow Conservatory and many European festivals.
She was first prize winner of the International Piano Competitions in Rome and in Puigcerda, and received her musical education in Kiev at the Lysenko School of Music with V.Vorobyov, in Würzburg at the Hochschule für Musik with Silke-Thora Matthies and at the Hartt School of the University of Hartford with Oxana Yablonskaya. She is currently pursuing a Doctoral Degree in Hartford and is active as her teacher's assistant. She is a recipient of the Musical Club of Hartford's Evelyn Bonar Storrs Scholarship.