Carl Davis (b.1936)
Carl’s War (Dedicated to my Mother on her 100th birthday)
Carl Davis Collection 009

Czech National Symphony Orchestra
Carl Davis
The internationally famous composer and conductor, Carl Davis, C.B.E. (Hon.) has written some of the most memorable and moving scores for films and documentary series about World War II. This CD re-works five of these into Concert Suites. The World at War, the ground-breaking Emmy Award winning twenty-six part series introduced by Carl Davis’s stirring theme is hailed as definitive. Digitally re-mastered on Blue-ray, the series will be actively advertised and promoted over the coming months.
Starring John Thaw and the fastest selling DVD ever, Goodnight Mr Tom is the touching story of a disturbed East End evacuee finding a new home in the idyllic English countryside. The music reflects the joys of country life, as well as the tragic events of the Blitz.
Award-winning Echoes That Remain, produced by the Simon Wiesenthal Foundation, celebrates the culture of the Shetetl, the small Jewish settlements of Eastern Europe. Carl Davis’s score incorporates traditional Yiddish songs, as well as underlining the dark days of the destruction at the hands of the Nazis.
Anne Frank Remembered is an Academy Award winning film that gave fascinating insights into her life both before and after her years in the famous attic. Carl Davis’s score expresses the poetic spirit and courage of a budding writer, as well as the horrendous events closing in on her.
The Snow Goose - the most substantial work on the CD is based on Paul Gallico’s romantic novel, was beautifully translated to film, starring Jenny Agutter (winning her an Emmy) and Richard Harris. This new ‘Rhapsody’ combines all the major themes, closing with the music for the heroic rescue from Dunkirk.
  1. The World at War, television series score 5:11
Goodnight Mr. Tom, for orchestra
  2. I. Arrival 5:00
  3. II. Going Fishing 3:06
  4. III. Return to London 4:25
  5. IV. Finale 2:34
Echos That Remain, for orchestra
  6. I. Theme 1:41
  7. II. Shtetl Main Street 1:20
  8. III. Pogrom No.1 1:53
  9. IV. Pogrom No.2 1:28
10. V. Names and Sayings 3:15
11. VI. Spring Cemetary 1:54
12. VII. Holidays No.1 1:03
13. VIII. Holidays No.2 2:31
14. IX. Remember 1:33
Anne Frank Remembered, for orchestra
15. I. Disappearance 4:36
16. II. Attic 5:29
17. III. Death of Anne Frank 2:20
18. Rhapsody on Themes from The Snow Goose, for orchestra 18:16