Het Brabants Orkest
Donemus Composers Voice CV 77
Marc Soustrot, conductor

Total time 71'48

1 Hendrik Andriessen Concerto per organo e orchestra (François-Henri Houbart, organ)  15'09
      Introductie en Passacaglia 7'25
      Toccata 7'44
2 Henk Badings Concert voor harp en klein symphonieorkest (Ellen Versney, harp)  21'45
3 Léon Orthel Scherzo no. 2 per orchestra  12'02
4 Marius Flothuis Concert voor fluit en orkest (Raymond Delnoye, flute)  20'51
      Introduzione, tango e walzer, coda

The story behind the Flute Concerto by Marius Flothuis is a remarkable one. The concerto was conceived in 1944, when the composer was imprisoned by the Germans in the Vught internment camp. There he had performed his recently completed Flute Sonata with one of his fellow prisoners, the flutist Everard van Royen. By chance there was music paper available in the camp, and Flothuis managed to notate the score for the new concerto. But an attempt to smuggle it to safety, hidden in a package to his family, was foiled. The score disappeared and the composer was banished to the detention barracks. While working on trying to reconstruct the manuscript he was transferred to another camp, this time in Germany, and ordered to produce arrangements for military band. With music paper once again available, he completed his Flute Concerto which was given its premiere in December 1945 in Utrecht.