The Happiest Years
Genuin GEN20711
Eduard Erdmann: Sonate für Violine solo, op. 12,
Artur Schnabel: Sonate für Violine solo
Judith Ingolfsson, Violine;
Aufnahme 2019, Veröffentlichung 06/2020 (65'05) – Rezension von Uwe Krusch

Artur Schnabel
was an extraordinary figure as a pianist and is still known today.
His far less cherished compositional work can now be heard in the Sonata for solo violin.
The work is, like his entire oeuvre, characterized by a radical personality.
Schnabel directed his interest towards differentiation in tempo and dynamics.
His sonata can be seen as a continuously changing stream without repetitions.
He was also an older friend and mentor of the other composer of this recording,

Eduard Erdmann.was also praised for his pianistic abilities.
Stylistically, Erdmann could not make friends with the musical innovators of his time.
He developed his personal expression in the solo sonata for violin.
Unconditional linearity and single-mindedness in harmony create a peculiar polyphonic world.
Only a handful of violinists have these works in their repertoire, and the recording of the Schnabel Sonata by Christian Tetzlaff was also made a quarter of a century ago. The Erdmann Sonata is a world premiere recording
Judith Ingolfsson plays with a crystal clear, transparent sound, which nevertheless makes the music sound alive. With 45 minutes, the Schnabel Sonata is certainly the most challenging of these two works in terms of concentration and creative requirements.
Ingolfsson’s performance is effortless, straightforward and also explores the subtleties along the way.
A discovery well worth listening!



Artur Schnabel Sonata for Violin Solo 37:33

  1. I. Langsam, sehr frei und leidenschaftlich 9:24
  2. II. In kräftig-fröhlichem Wanderschritt, durchweg sehr lebendig 3:10
  3. III. Zart und anmutig, durchaus ruhig 2:22
  4. IV. Äußerst rasch 6:39
  5. V. Sehr langsame Halbe, mit feierlichem ernstem Ausdruck, doch stets schlicht 15:58

Eduard Erdmann: Sonata for Violin Solo, Op. 12 18:28

  1. I. Ruhig - Fließend - Ruhig 7:48
  2. II. Allegretto scherzando - Trio. Einfach, wie eine Volksweise 4:17
  3. III. Langsam 2:39
  4. IV. Lebendig 3:44